WATCH OUT FOR THE SPOILERS!!!

Based on the novel by the same name, The Book Thief is a 2013 American drama. It was released on November 15, 2013.

The novel, The Book Thief was written by an Australian author Markus Zusak and was first published in 2005.

I was able to watch it just today, thanks to my dad. I need to tell that I never read that book, so I base my impressions on the movie.

Germany, 1939. Train. A train moving through the whiteness of the land. A train that carries a girl and her family.

Liesel Meminger, because that’s her name is travelling to Molching, just outside Munich, where is will be put for a fosterage with her brother. However, while travelling, her brother dies and Liesel is on her own.

She was given to foster by Rosa and Hans Hubermann, living in a small house on 33 Himmel Street.

Rosa is definetely not the most warmest of mothers that we seen, whereas Hans seems like a very emotional and old papa.

Liesel meets Rudy Steiner, who offers to take her to school, where we discover that the girl can’t read and write, therefore Hans tries to help her.

 

She becomes a close friend of Max Vandenburg, a Jew that her new parents stowed away in the basement during World War II.

Liesel reminds me of myself. She’s a shy girl, in a new place with new people. She begins to question the world around her and she won’t stop at simple answers.

When her town had organized a parade and later burned the inferior books she steals one of them, The Invisible Man.

 

Later in the movie, she stole books from the Mayor’s house to read. Well, she called it borrowing.

I’m not going to describe the whole plot of the movie. Watch it and you’ll know.

I can tell you that from the beginning I knew what character was the narrator and that the ending did struck me and I cried.

It’s an amazing story of a girl fighting with prejudices that the adults try to feed her up with. Her only support are her friends, foster parents and BOOKS.

I liked The Book Thief, because it told a story from a child’s point of view at the times of war in Germany. Even if at some points it was a bit boring and seemed to just move slow.

To make up your own opinion you’ll have to watch it.