I definitely need to write posts more often, seems like longer than a month since my last post.

Well, I do have my reasons.

We have our cousin visiting for two weeks and while the rest of the family was out working, I spend time with her, mostly on the couch, watching horrors. My sister took her out to Manchester and shopping. Although I don’t know how but she and my sister managed to get me to agree for a trip to Liverpool tomorrow. Hope it won’t be a waste of my time. Then on Sunday we’ll be going to Trafford Centre in Manchester.

On Tuesday, I had my enrollment into second year of BTEC Art. The documents took a long time before I could get out of college. My first week starts on the 3rd of September. It’s a shame that our group will get more mixed up with the other. Additionally we will get a new tutor. I don’t know whether it will work out well.

On the other hand, in Stockport there is something like Stockport Market Hall.

 

Few days a week, the Market Hall is opened for the clients.It’s a great opportunity to walk aimlessly, admiring the handcrafted items that the vendors sell.

I visited a week ago and wondered around and while I didn’t find anything interesting there, the outside stalls with vintage and antique books caught my attention. This day, I walked home with a vintage edition of Charles Dickens’s ‘The Tale of Two Cities‘ and ‘Christmas Carol’. I love the smell of old books, it bring you back to the past.

Also, while shopping with my cousin, I walked into Waterstones bookstore and bought the first volumes of Deadman Wonderland, D-GrayMan and No.6 mangas.

 

 

I have to admit that I  didn’t expect much from those, but after reading all three, I realized that I truly want to read the next volumes. However, I will have to wait till November or so to get enough money for them and all the other mangas that I neglected to buy those last months.

I wanted to write something else, but what was it…what did I…

…AHHA!!! The Ice Bucket Challenge! You can see a lot of videos of celebrities and others, families and friend, pouring buckets of ice and cold water over their heads. The first time I heard about it was today actually.  Then I watched a video with Benedict Cumberbatch participating in this.

 

 

That’s when I started wondering about ALS and the meaning of the action.

The Ice Bucket Challenge, also the ALS Ice Bucket Challenge aims to promote awareness of Amyotrophic Lateral Sclerosis, ALS and to gain support for the research of it through donations.

The Amyotrophic Lateral Sclerosis also referred to as Motor Neurone Disease  (MND), Charcot disease is a neurodegenerative disease with various causes. Often characterised by the spasticity of muscle, rapid and progressive weakness due to muscle atrophy. Diagnosed with this disease also suffer from difficulty in speaking (dysarthria), swallowing (dysphagia), and breathing (dyspnea). Of the five motor neuron diseases, ALS is the most common.

The challenge gained more attention few months ago.

Pat Quinn (31) in NY, who was diagnosed with ALS in March 2013 called upon his friends and family for the challenge after watching a video of Jeanette Senerchia from Pelham, NY complying to the challenge. Her husband, Anthony, was diagnosed with ALS eleven years ago.  Soon, Quinn’s whole network was posting challenges.

That is how a resident of Massachusetts and former Boston College baseball player, Pete Frates, who himself has ALS heard about the challenge.began posting about it on Twitter.  Frates’ Boston College and sporting connections were what strengthened the focus on ALS.

The challenge states that a  person dares nominated participants to be filmed having a bucket of ice water poured on their heads and challenging others to do the same. Nominated people have usually 24 hours to accept or forfeit by way of a donation to the ALS, some people do both, some prefer one of the options. You can either donate or be sloshed with ice water bucket or you can do both.

 

Yes, I think that’s it.

