So, as I mentioned in my previous post, I have been on a little trip in Liverpool with my sister and our cousin.

We woke around 7:00am and prepared our bags (you know…water, snacks, book, map, wallet, headphones) and around 8:30am we took a cab to Train Station. There my sister got our tickets and we walked for the platform 3.

http://www.kentvalentine.com/2009/07/29/where-have-all-the-gentlemen-gone/

Our train was called at 9:25, so we had some time to talk. I looked around the platform noticing two families with kids, a teenager smoking and lots of tourists with their luggage on the opposite platform. Deciding that I wouldn’t want to join in a conversation with the girls I took out my phone, put on headphones and started nodding my head to the rhythm of One Reason by Fade.

The rush of the wind announced the train and we stepped in, choosing seats next to the exit. Girls together. I was left politely asking a man in front of them if the seat next to him is taken. Answering negatively, I took the seat and started to sketch about in my sketchbook (obviously). I was sketching someone from Assassin’s Creed, don’t ask who, because I have no idea. You’ll ask ‘Why do you draw someone from Assassin’s Creed, if you don’t know their name, anyway?’ The answer is simple, because I liked the posture.  Holding a knife, with bended knees and rushing forward. It was on one of the wallpapers. I never played the game, never read the books. It doesn’t excite me, so I never got to know it.

Anyway, the man was sipping a beer and between this and checking his phone and looking outside the window, he kept glancing down on my sketching, but kept quiet. Unfortunately, the sketch was so bad, I decided to leave it and just observe the passing scenery. I had to pause in this ‘fascinating’ task, to let the man get out on his station, but at least it gave me something to do.

Around 10:30am, we arrived at the Liverpool Lime Street Station.

First thing first, we went to the toilet. It was cold a bit, besides the rain was pissing down outside. My sister took us to the coffee shop and for the next few minutes we warmed ourselves with our warm drinks. Mmmm, hot chocolate.

Walking across the street from the station to the St. George’s Hall we stepped up for cover from the rain.

St. Georges Hall
Lime Street Station

Then Karolina (ma sis) remembered that we were supposed to go to the Walker Art Gallery, so we had to leave into the rain and walk over to the further building, the gallery on Mill Lane.

Walker Art Gallery

Walking on the steps we reached to foyer where we were greeted by a guide who provided us with a map of the gallery. Then we walked into the sculpture room. Apart from the Victorian Paintings this was the room that I enjoyed the most.

liverpool 005

As always, the quality of the photos is not the best. Shame, the sculptures are amazing.

Bust of Charles Dickens by Giovanni Fontana (1821-1893)
Bust of Charles Dickens by Giovanni Fontana
(1821-1893)
by John Gibson (1790-1866)
The Three Graces by John Gibson
(1790-1866)

The room had many different sculptures from 1500’s to more modern busts of famous figures.

I quite liked the Tomb effigy of the Duchess of  Nemours by Henry Chapu (1833-1891).

The Tomb effigy of the Duchess of Nemours
The Tomb effigy of the Duchess of Nemours

When we were satisfied with the sculpture room, we moved to the connecting one with crafts from the British artiststs. I liked the idea of pulling out drawers from under the displays to find some more crafts.

Chair from birch, presented to St. Saviour Church, Liverpool, by a member of congregation (1846)
Chair from birch, presented to St. Saviour Church, Liverpool, by a member of congregation (1846)
Box, jasper ware by Josiah Wedgewood (1980-200)
Box, jasper ware by Josiah Wedgewood (1980-200)

Moving on with the visit we stepped through the cafe and the marble stairs upstairs where the first thing I noticed was a bronze bust of Albert Einstein, that he modelled for, by Jacob Epstein in 1933.

Albert Einstein by Jacob Epstein  (1880-1959)
Albert Einstein by Jacob Epstein
(1880-1959)

I won’t describe all the rooms that we visited, because that would be tedious and dull. And I am not good with being descriptive. Therefore I have chosen few photographs to show you.

And when did you last see your father? , 1879 by William Frederick Yeames (1835-1918)
And when did you last see your father? , 1879
by William Frederick Yeames (1835-1918)
The Ruins of Holyrood Chapel by Louis Daguerre (1787-1851)
The Ruins of Holyrood Chapel by Louis Daguerre (1787-1851)

The painting below was the one that my sister found fascinating, probably because the little girl looks cute and vulnerable.

Millie Smith, 1846 by Ford Madox Brown (1821-93)
Millie Smith, 1846
by Ford Madox Brown (1821-93)

The next one didn’t have a proper plaque, so I don’t know what wood it’s made of or by whom, but it is a beautiful piece of furniture.

liverpool 055

As you know, from my profile on Gravatar and the link to About, I am Polish, so it was a suprise to find an object of art from Poland in the Liverpool Art Gallery.

Cabinet covered with pieces of amber and ivory, Gdańsk, Poland, About 1700's
Cabinet covered with pieces of amber and ivory,
Gdańsk, Poland,
About 1700’s
King Charles III by Godfrey Kneller (1646-1723)
King Charles III
by Godfrey Kneller (1646-1723)
Mona Lisa 17th century by an unknown artist based on Leonardo da Vinci's original Mona Lisa
Mona Lisa
17th century
by an unknown artist
based on Leonardo da Vinci’s original Mona Lisa
Wallpaper in the Victorian Art rooms I wish to have a wallpaper like that in my room. Elegant.
Wallpaper in the Victorian Art rooms
I wish to have a wallpaper like that in my room. Elegant.
King Henry VIII Workshop of Hans Holbein the Younger (1497/8-1543)
King Henry VIII
Workshop of Hans Holbein the Younger
(1497/8-1543)
Queen Elizabeth I Attributed to  Nicholas Hilliard (1547-1619)
Queen Elizabeth I
Attributed to
Nicholas Hilliard (1547-1619)

That’s it from the Walker Art Gallery, we walked downstairs where my sisters bought few postcards and a bookmark for me with the boy from And when did you last see your father? , 1879.

We stepped out and made our way next to the Liverpool Museum and Planetarium, World Museum and  Liverpool Central Library (massive building, wish to stepped in there).  Turning into Old Haymarket street we crossed the road for the Whitechapel street. I quickly noticed a similarity between one of the buildings and the Iron building in New York.

liverpool 080

We made our way to Footasylum, so our cousin could buy the supra shoes that she was looking for in over five other shops. Suprise, suprise she got them! Although black and not white. She exchanged them the next day in Manchester Arndale.

My sister decided that we should take a break, after looking around the shops, so she took us to McDonalds. I ought to say that I don’t usually venture there as I developed a bit of dislike for the fast foods, I enjoy the chips (fries) but that’s it. Besides I hate to eat out of the house when someone else is paying. I tend to order cheaper food, this time chicken wrap, which suprisingly was good. Crunchy. Our cousin, I really should use her name, Patricia, Pati. So, Pati ordered a cheeseburger and chips and Karolina a salad. On the downside we didn’t get out chips, but drinks instead.

After we ate, we took off. Wandering around we reached Albert’s Docks through Thomas Steers Way. (On the sidenote, Just witnessed my sister dancing uncontrollably, a feet away. The floor panels shaking, while she sang the words she could remember and moved strangely.)

Albert's Docks
Albert’s Docks

We wanted to go to The Beatles Story, however it would cost us more than the whole trip to Liverpool. Turned around, looking for a stop to use a toilet we ventured to Central One Bus Station, where I noticed the toilet.

Choosing the main road we walked till we turned into James Street and then Lord Street. Few shops caught the girls interest, so we entered. They spend the next hour and a bit trying on clothes and just looking. While we were talking an another buyer heard us talking and asked whether we are Russian, to wich I replied a simple ‘No’. Deciding to make another short stop at McDonalds we bought three packs of chips to munch over and afterwards made a slow walk to the Lime Street Station where we caught a train to Norwich that had a stop in Stockport. From there we took a bus home and laid down on our beds.

Overall it was a good choice to go with them, as I have never been to Liverpool, except occasional trip in a car to the airport. I liked the architecture and the feeling of the vibe from people and the place. I might consider attending John Moores University in Liverpool.

Cheers!

