Yes. I know. Two weeks. I should place a memo in my calendar when to write up posts, otherwise you’ll be hearing from me much later.

 

Okay, so I told you about the induction weeks, right?

Our second year is now one group instead of two. Also there is a lot of first years. In overall, there is currently 60 or so people studying art on our campus, close to 40 of those are first years.

During induction we were assigned into groups. Second year mixed with the freshers. Getting to know each other and asking questions. I got to meet Calum, Peter and their friend (whom I forgt the name, but remeber her saying that she just moved to UK from Germany). Next we had an Art Race. Our tutors hid away sheets of paper with art photos and info on them around our art corridor and in the classes. We were divided into teams and ordered to get all the photos from the list. Ofcourse each team had a different list with only one photo. To get the next one, we were supposed to find it on any of the hidden sheets and find the next picture, thus going a bit like a timeline we’ve found all the photos. I am proud to say that the team I was in was one of the winners. There were two teams that completed the Arts Race first.

 

Around the induction weeks, we had workshops. On one day we were creating our own tools for mark making and used them in a life drawing session. Another day, were worked in the studio with clay, trying (and succeeding) to create a plaque relief. We also had a samba workshop. All the students were placed in groups so, everyone had a chance to have an instrument. We were instructed to follow a rhythm and pattern of easy samba and played it, while one of college tutors was videotaping the session.

 

Last Friday we ventured with all art classes to the Manchester Art Gallery.

 

There we were put in two. Along with our partners we were supposed to find pieces of art, object, paintings from the time frame of 1880-1920, as our first brief focuses on World War One, thus the works we found will be somewhat connected to the theme. When we found the object we were to note the author, title, media, technique and record it along with the sketch and photo of the object.

When me and my partner walked out from the Crafts Gallery, I lost him.  Literally. Gazing over the people in the hall, I found all the other classmates, except Jason. I thought that I’ll find him in another room.

I followed one of my friends and got down to the task.

However, I forgot one thing. Since me and Jason were separated, our notes won’t match, because we have different paintings and information, when we were supposed to have them the same. Team task=FAILED. I should apologise to him the next time I see him.

On the other hand I found quite interesting works.

 

 

The Sea-Birds Domain, 1902, by Peter Graham (1836-1921)
The Sea-Birds Domain, 1902,
by Peter Graham
(1836-1921)

 

 

12th sept Gallery research 001

 

 

 

Two's Company, Three's None, about 1892, by Marcus Stone (1840-1921)
Two’s Company, Three’s None, about 1892,
by Marcus Stone
(1840-1921)

12th sept Gallery research 002

(c) Manchester City Galleries; Supplied by The Public Catalogue Foundation
Under the Windsor Bridge on the Irwel, Manchester, 1912 by Adolphe Valette (1876-1942)

12th sept Gallery research 003

 

While on lunch break, three of my friends and I walked to a nearby Manchester Central Library, so we could join to be a member, since it was one of our tasks, set by our tutor.

It looks a bit different now, since they are doing some works around the library.

 

Afterwards we walked back to gallery to continue with our research. While sitting on the gallery steps, copying the painting of Hector Lying Dead, I heard someone saying my name. Looking up I saw my sister’s former teacher of English. She just came back from Spain. I promised to pass on her greetings to my sister and got back to drawing. ( I wasn’t mean or anything. We talked and then she said that she’s going to look around.)

 

Now I am sitting on my bed, obviously writing the post that I was meant to write two days ago, trying to finish my homework for tomorrow. We’ll be going to the Imperial War Museum, where I have been few times already. Don’t get me wrong, I find history and war very interesting, but there is not a lot of places where you can constantly keep going and not get bored after a nth time.

Imperial War Museum, North (Salford, Manchester)

 

Anyway,   I made pages of notes on the long-term and short0term causes of WWI, the assasination of Archduke Franz Ferdinand, the Battle of the Somme, the break of the Hinderburg Line, morale of soldiers and medicine developments.

 

Daily Mail-Battle of the Somme

 

Yet somehow it all seems irrelevant now. After all it won’t give that real feeling of taking part in the war yourself. I just hope that it will be looking different when all the info and photos will be on the timeline.

 

So, here. A long overdue post. Don’t be scared to comment.

 

 

 

 

 

