Back after first week-Retour après la première semaine

Hey guys and gals

So sorry I didn’t write as of lately, but I have so much work to do. Yes I do know it sounds like the worst excuse.

Okay, after the Christmas break and back to college I got down to work on the painting brief and my portfolio for uni. The day after my application was sent I had already received invitations for three interviews, this week I received another. And it is that last one that worries me. It is next week on Tuesday to be precise and I really want to get on this course because it is different from the others, offers me a kinder environment and it is in a closer proximity to home. But I am not good at talking with strangers and talking with them about my own art is going to be even more unnerving. If you have any advises I’ll gladly listen to them.

On the other hand, I am painting three portraits in oils and it is a disaster, the skin colour is hard to produce when you never learned to do it. I am so glad for books and the Internet, brilliant resources.

Oil paints Skin tone wheel
Oil paints Skin tone wheel
Watercolours skin tone cheat sheet found on Pinterest
Watercolours skin tone cheat sheet found on Pinterest

Watercolours are difficult to manage, mainly when it comes to light, because you should allow the paper to be visible and I just find myself covering the whole page with paint. Ughhhh! I need to work on it tomorrow.

I am still working on Chinatown, there is no way I am changing my theme just because I cannot work with the medium I have chosen. I will NOT give up!

Currently I am applying this technique (below) into a portrait of one of my colleagues from college.

On the blue- One of my studies of Nick Lepard's works and technique in applying paint. Acrylics on paper
On the blue- One of my studies of Nick Lepard’s works and technique in applying paint.
Acrylics on paper
Charlie Hebdo cover
Charlie Hebdo cover

  Now onto another point. I was disturbed by the news on Wednesday the 7th of January, when I heard about the attack on the Charlie Hebdo magazine. I was saddened by the deaths of the employees and the cartoonists in the attack, as well as the innocent Muslim policeman, Ahmed Merabet. This wasn’t just an attack on a satirical magazine who made ‘jokes’ from religions and politics. It was a deliberate attack on the freedom of expression of the public. And then on Friday the 9th I saw the news that described the attack on the Hyper Cacher supermarket. This is something that you do not expect when you walk into the shop for your groceries. You do NOT expect to be ushered inside and locket, held at a gunpoint, trembling in fear for your life. And those situations are becoming a normality.

That doesn’t mean that I approve the attacks that happen in revenge, retaliation, against the Muslim community in France. The whole population is NOT responsible for the action of a group.

Okay, the rant is over. May the lives lost rest in peace and be remembered.

TOON-Je_suis_Charlie
Je_suis_Charlie

FRENCH:

Hé les gars et les filles

Donc, désolé, je ne ai pas écrit depuis peu de temps, mais je ai tellement de travail à faire. Oui, je ne sais que cela ressemble à la pire excuse.

Bon, après la pause de Noël et de retour à l’université, je suis descendu à travailler sur le dossier de la peinture et mon portefeuille uni. Le lendemain de mon demande a été envoyée je avais déjà reçu des invitations pour trois entrevues, cette semaine, je ai reçu un autre. Et ce est ce dernier qui me inquiète. Ce est la semaine prochaine, mardi, pour être précis et je ai vraiment envie de monter sur ce cours parce que ce est différent des autres, me offre un environnement de plus aimable et il est dans une plus grande proximité de la maison. Mais je ne suis pas bon pour parler avec des étrangers et de parler avec eux au sujet de mon propre art va être encore plus troublant. Si vous avez des conseille je serai heureux de les écouter.

D’autre part, je peins trois portraits à l’huile et ce est une catastrophe, la couleur de la peau est difficile à produire quand vous ne avez jamais appris à le faire. Je suis si heureux pour les livres et l’Internet, les ressources brillants.

Oil paints Skin tone wheel
Oil paints Skin tone wheel
Watercolours skin tone cheat sheet found on Pinterest
Watercolours skin tone cheat sheet found on Pinterest
 Aquarelles sont difficiles à gérer, surtout quand il se agit à la lumière, parce que vous devez permettre au papier d’être visible et je viens de me trouver couvrant la page entière avec de la peinture. Ughhh! Je ai besoin de travailler dessus demain.
Je travaille toujours sur Chinatown, il n’y a pas moyen que je changeais mon thème juste parce que je ne peux pas travailler avec le milieu que je ai choisi. Je ne vais pas abandonner!
Actuellement, je fais une demande de cette technique (ci-dessous) dans un portrait de l’un de mes collègues du collège.
On the blue- One of my studies of Nick Lepard's works and technique in applying paint. Acrylics on paper
On the blue- One of my studies of Nick Lepard’s works and technique in applying paint.
Acrylics on paper
Charlie Hebdo cover
Charlie Hebdo cover

Maintenant sur un autre point. Je ai été troublé par les nouvelles mercredi le 7 Janvier, quand je ai entendu parler de l’attaque sur le magazine Charlie Hebdo. Je ai été attristé par les décès des employés et les dessinateurs dans l’attaque, ainsi que le policier musulman innocent, Ahmed Merabet. Ce ne était pas seulement une attaque sur un magazine satirique qui fait blagues’ des religions et de la politique. Ce était une attaque délibérée contre la liberté d’expression du public. Et puis le vendredi 9 je ai vu les nouvelles que décrit l’attaque du supermarché Hyper Cacher. Ce est quelque chose que vous ne vous attendez pas quand vous marchez dans la boutique pour votre épicerie.

Vous ne vous attendez pas à être inauguré à l’intérieur et médaillon, tenue à la pointe du fusil, tremblant de peur pour votre vie. Et ces situations sont de plus en une normalité.

Cela ne signifie pas que je approuve les attaques qui se produisent dans la vengeance, de représailles contre la communauté musulmane en France. L’ensemble de la population ne est pas responsable de l’action d’un groupe.

Ok, le diatribe est terminée. Que les vies perdues repose en paix et être rappelé.

TOON-Je_suis_Charlie
Je_suis_Charlie
Leave a Reply

