I’m Polish. Je suis polonaise.

Plik:Plock-panorama.jpg

I have no idea if you are interested or not, but I’ve decided to write up a little about my home land.

Although, I currently live and study in England, until I was fourteen, my home was Poland. I was born in Płock, which once was Poland’s capital city.

Me at the age of one and a half (I think) I know that I remember that dog in the foreground, it’s smell and taste. I used to bit on it. 😀

It is a place where you can find a mixture of 18th century architecture and modernism.

Tumskie Hill
View onto shopping mall.

The above photo shows a shopping mall five minutes on foot from where my neighbourhood is. We lived in a flat blocks. Three block connected to each other. One block had five floors. Ten flats in each block. It wasn’t bad. We had shops, schools, pharmacy and playgrounds really close by. Our flat had a kitchen, bathroom, living room/parent’s bedroom and a bedroom where my siblings and I slept and studied. It wasn’t much but it was good. The only downside was that our primary school was in a different town, where my grandparents live. I think my parents decided for us to go there because it was only twenty minutes on feet away from my grandparents, so after school, each day we went to my grandma, had dinner, did homework (our grandpa returned from work around this time) and then we waited for my mum until she came and took us home. When my sister went to high school only me and my brother stayed there. Sometimes we slept over so our mom didn’t have to worry and could peacefully finish her work.

Town Hall in Płock, Old City.
St. Martin’s Church in Słupno. This is a church in my grandparents’ town where I used to attend mass.
My old school. The Primary school was placed in the right wing, while the High School in the left wing next to the sport’s hall (green roof).

My goodness, writing about that causes me to tear up. So many memories, not all of them good, but it was my childhood.

I remember going back to my grandma’s and after my homework was done I usually read or went outside to play on the streets and in the forests. Not like kids nowadays, where their parents won’t even let them play two streets down. I also noticed that a lot of my current neighbours who have daughters limit their movement to the garden while the boys run rampart along the street.

ANYWAY, back to playing at my grandparents.

The forests where I spent a lot of my time.
The forests where I spent a lot of my time.

Okay so you know a bit of my childhood now, so I will focus on the facts about my country.

Flag of Poland
Flag of the Republic of Poland (formal name)

Poland was founded in 966 by Mieszko I, who belonged to the Piast dynasty by Mieszko’s marriage and christening, therefore becoming a Christian King along with his country.

Map of Poland
Map of Poland, can you notice my city of Płock?

In 1795 Poland ceased to exist as a country for 123 years due to invasion from other countries. Poland was divided between the three opressors, Russia, Prussia and Austria. Polish language has been forbidden from use. People were punished when using it, as well as when teaching/learning Polish history and geography.

tumblr_mofnqoZYsG1svgfdso1_500

On November 11, 1918, Poland declared itself a republic, independent of Russia. Poles have celebrated their Independence Day as a national holiday on November 11th since 1937. However, public celebration of the holiday was forbidden from 1939–1989, while Poland was under a Communist government. Since the collapse of that government, Independence Day has become the most important Polish national holiday.

Wieliczka Salt Mine

Poland’s Wieliczka Salt mine is one of the world’s oldest salt mines, located in the southern Polish town of Wieliczka, was built in the 13th century and produced table salt until 2007. The mine’s attractions include dozens of statues, three chapels, and an entire cathedral carved out of rock salt by the miners. Approximately1.2 million visitors walk through the salt mine annually. The mine reaches a depth of 1,073 feet (327 m) and is over 178 miles (287 km) long. It is often referred to as the “Underground Salt Cathedral of Poland”.

Jagiellonian University in Krakow

Kraków’s Jagiellonian University was established by King Casimir III the Great in 1364 and is the oldest university in Poland and second oldest in Central Europe.

Gate to Aushwitz

During World War II, the Polish town of Oświeçim was the site of the Auschwitz-Birkenau Concentration Camps, where at least 1.1. million Nazi prisoners were killed by gassing with the pesticide Zyklon-B and many more died in other ways. Ninety percent of the prisoners killed were Jewish. The first exterminations of prisoners took place in September 1941.

Gniezno was the very first capital of Poland.

tumblr_moek1pqVyl1svgfdso1_500

tumblr_moel91UMu11svgfdso1_500

30/04/2011 Warszawa Prezydent Bronislaw Komorowski oraz Pierwsza Dama Anna Komorowska odslonili jeden z kilku unikalnych, oryginalnych egzemplarzy Konstytucji Trzeciego Maja. Konstytucja wystawiona jest na widok publiczny w galerii Kordegarda. Fot. Wojciech Grzedzinski/KPRP UWAGA!!!! Zdjecia pochodzace z oficjalnego serwisu fotograficznego Kancelarii Prezydenta RP moga byc wykorzystywane jedynie w celu ilustrowania materialów, dotyczacych dzialan Prezydenta RP. Jakakolwiek ingerencja w integralnosc zdjecia - w tym kadrowanie czy obróbka graficzna - jest niedozwolona. Wszelkie wykorzystywanie zdjec pochodzacych z oficjalnego serwisu fotograficznego Kancelarii Prezydenta RP w celach komercyjnych lub w materialach o charakterze politycznym jest zabronione. Publikacja lub kontekst wykorzystania zdjecia nie moze naruszac dobrego imienia Rzeczpospolitej Polskiej, Prezydenta RP, Jego Rodziny i Kancelarii Prezydenta. Publikujacy zdjecia zobowiazuje sie do podpisania ich autora oraz zródla ich pochodzenia.

tumblr_moll7zhQeU1svgfdso1_500

tumblr_mojwr6JOsl1svgfdso1_500

Well, I guess that’s it.

FRENCH:

Plik:Plock-panorama.jpg

Je ne sais pas si vous êtes intéressé ou non, mais je l’ai décidé d’écrire un peu de mon pays natal.

Bien, je vis actuellement et d’étude en Angleterre, jusqu’à ce que je avais quatorze ans, ma maison était Pologne. Je suis né à Płock, qui était autrefois la capitale de la Pologne.

Moi à l’âge de un an et demi (je crois), je sais que je me souviens que le chien au premier plan, il est odorat et le goût. Je l’habitude de peu sur elle.  😀

Il est un endroit où vous pouvez trouver un mélange de l’architecture du 18ème siècle et le modernisme.

Tumskie Colline
Vue sur le centre commercial.

La photo ci-dessus montre un centre commercial de cinq minutes à pied de l’endroit où mon quartier est. Nous vivions dans un blocs plats. Trois blocs reliés entre eux. Un bloc a cinq étages. Dix appartements dans chaque bloc. Il était pas mal. Nous avons eu des commerces, écoles, pharmacie et terrains de jeux vraiment tout près. Notre appartement avait une cuisine, salle de bain, salon / chambre à coucher de parent et une chambre où mes frères et sœurs et moi avons dormi et étudiés. Il avait pas beaucoup mais il était bon. Le seul inconvénient était que notre école primaire était dans une ville différente, où mes grands-parents vivent. Je pense que mes parents ont décidé pour nous d’y aller car il était seulement vingt minutes sur les pieds loin de mes grands-parents, donc après l’école, chaque jour nous sommes allés à ma grand-mère, a dîné, faisaient leurs devoirs (notre grand-père rentrait du travail à cette époque) puis nous avons attendu pour ma mère jusqu’à ce qu’elle est venu et nous avons pris la maison. Quand ma sœur est allée à l’école secondaire que moi et mon frère y est resté. Parfois, nous avons dormi au cours de sorte que notre maman n’a pas eu à se soucier et pourrait tranquillement finir sa travail.

Mairie à Płock, la vieille ville.
Eglise de Saint-Martin dans Słupno. Ceci est une église dans la ville de mes grands-parents où je assister à la messe.
Mon ancienne école. L’école primaire a été placée dans l’aile droite, tandis que le High School, à l’aile gauche à côté de la salle de sport (toit vert).

Mon Dieu, écrit à ce sujet me fait déchirer. Tant de souvenirs, pas tous bien, mais il était mon enfance.

Je me souviens de revenir à ma grand-mère et après mes devoirs a été fait, je lis habituellement ou est allé jouer dehors dans les rues et dans les forêts. Pas comme les enfants de nos jours, où leurs parents ne seront même pas les laisser jouer deux rues plus bas. Je ai aussi remarqué que beaucoup de mes voisins actuels qui ont des filles limiter leur mouvement au jardin tandis que les garçons courent rempart long de la rue.

De toute façon, retour à jouer à mes grands-parents.

The forests where I spent a lot of my time.
Mes grands-parents maison avant qu’elle a été rénové par mon grand-père (le premier sur la droite). Pour être honnête, je ne sais pas à quoi ça ressemble.

Bon si vous connaissez un peu de mon enfance maintenant, donc je vais me concentrer sur les faits au sujet de mon pays.

Flag of Poland
Drapeau de la République de Pologne (nom officiel)

La Pologne a été fondée en 966 par Mieszko I, qui appartenait à la dynastie des Piast par le mariage et baptême de Mieszko, devenant ainsi un roi chrétien avec son pays.

Map of Poland

Carte de la Pologne, pouvez-vous apercevoir de ma ville de Płock?

In 1795 Poland ceased to exist as a country for 123 years due to invasion from other countries. Poland was divided between the three opressors, Russia, Prussia and Austria. Polish language has been forbidden from use. People were punished when using it, as well as when teaching/learning Polish history and geography.

tumblr_mofnqoZYsG1svgfdso1_500

Le 11 Novembre 1918, la Pologne se déclare une république, indépendante de la Russie. Polonais ont célébré leur fête de l’indépendance comme une fête nationale le 11 Novembre depuis 1937. Toutefois, la célébration publique de la fête était interdit 1939-1989, tandis que la Pologne était sous un gouvernement communiste. Depuis l’effondrement de ce gouvernement, Jour de l’Indépendance est devenue la plus importante fête nationale polonaise.

Wieliczka Salt Mine

La mine de sel de Wieliczka de la Pologne est une des plus anciennes mines de sel du monde, situé dans la ville polonaise sud de Wieliczka, a été construit au 13ème siècle et a produit le sel de table jusqu’en 2007. Les attractions de la mine comprennent des dizaines de statues, trois chapelles, et toute une cathédrale sculpté dans le sel gemme par les mineurs. Approximately1.2 millions de visiteurs se promènent dans la mine de sel par an. La mine atteint une profondeur de 1.073 pieds (327 m) et plus de 178 miles (287 km) de long. Il est souvent désigné comme le «Underground Salt cathédrale de la Pologne .

Jagiellonian University in Krakow

Université Jagellonne de Cracovie a été établi par le roi Casimir III le Grand en 1364 et est la plus ancienne université en Pologne et deuxième plus ancienne en Europe centrale.

Gate to Aushwitz

Pendant la Seconde Guerre mondiale, la ville polonaise d’Oswiecim a été le site des camps de concentration d’Auschwitz-Birkenau, où au moins 1,1. millions de prisonniers nazis ont été tués par gazage avec le pesticide ZyklonB et bien d’autres sont morts dans d’autres façons. Quatre-vingt dix pour cent des prisonniers tués étaient juifs. Les premières exterminations de prisonniers ont eu lieu en Septembre 1941.

Gniezno était la première capitale de la Pologne.

tumblr_moek1pqVyl1svgfdso1_500

tumblr_moel91UMu11svgfdso1_500

30/04/2011 Warszawa Prezydent Bronislaw Komorowski oraz Pierwsza Dama Anna Komorowska odslonili jeden z kilku unikalnych, oryginalnych egzemplarzy Konstytucji Trzeciego Maja. Konstytucja wystawiona jest na widok publiczny w galerii Kordegarda. Fot. Wojciech Grzedzinski/KPRP UWAGA!!!! Zdjecia pochodzace z oficjalnego serwisu fotograficznego Kancelarii Prezydenta RP moga byc wykorzystywane jedynie w celu ilustrowania materialów, dotyczacych dzialan Prezydenta RP. Jakakolwiek ingerencja w integralnosc zdjecia - w tym kadrowanie czy obróbka graficzna - jest niedozwolona. Wszelkie wykorzystywanie zdjec pochodzacych z oficjalnego serwisu fotograficznego Kancelarii Prezydenta RP w celach komercyjnych lub w materialach o charakterze politycznym jest zabronione. Publikacja lub kontekst wykorzystania zdjecia nie moze naruszac dobrego imienia Rzeczpospolitej Polskiej, Prezydenta RP, Jego Rodziny i Kancelarii Prezydenta. Publikujacy zdjecia zobowiazuje sie do podpisania ich autora oraz zródla ich pochodzenia.

tumblr_moll7zhQeU1svgfdso1_500

tumblr_mojwr6JOsl1svgfdso1_500

Eh bien, je suppose que ce qu’il.

Leave a Reply

